fbpx

Tag: GBV

Close up of Abubakar Mutoka Balibanga. He is sitting at a table in the office in Basel.

"Men are equally affected by violence against women"

One year ago, terre des hommes schweiz appointed three methodological officers, the Officers for PSS and Youth Participation (OPY). A few weeks ago our OPY for Tanzania, Abubakar Mutoka Balibanga, visited Basel. We wanted to find out from him what the situation is regarding gender-based violence in Tanzania.

Read more »
Marie Gilbrin speaks to the audience of the aidsfocus conference.

aidsfocus.ch conference: Sexual violence and HIV

The annual conference of aidsfocus.ch and terre des hommes schweiz on 10 April 2014 in Berne was devoted to the topic of "Sexual Violence and HIV". According to the WHO, every third woman worldwide is exposed to physical and/or sexual violence. These attacks have a direct impact on the health of those affected and are one of the main causes of HIV infection.
Irene Bush, PSS Psychosocial Support Unit

Read more »
Screenshot of the invitation as PDF to the event on April 7th at the company's headquarters in the middle of the city

Sexual violence still accepted in South Africa

Every ten minutes a woman is raped in South Africa. Almost every second young woman under 18 has been raped once. Our partner organization LifeLine supports the victims and carries out major prevention work in South Africa. Sinikiwe Biyela, Director of LifeLine Pietersmaritzburg, will visit us on April 7 and will report on the work of LifeLine.

Read more »
Infographics about the health risks of domestic violence.

Violence against women - a worldwide epidemic

Many of the partner organisations of terre des hommes schweiz have been dealing with the problem of gender-specific violence for years. In Africa, more than every third woman suffers violent assaults. However, it is not only women from countries of the South who are struggling with this phenomenon. The annual campaign "16 days against violence against women" draws attention to this problem and its consequences.

Read more »
Nondumiso Gule (l.) and Haniffa Nzama (r.) from the South African organisation LifeLine care for people affected by sexual violence in the crisis centre they have set up.

Success for counsellors of victims of violence

The young South Africans Nondumiso Gule and Haniffa Nzama, together with our partner organisation LifeLine, have established a contact point for people affected by violence at the district hospital in Escourt. There they advise and accompany victims of sexual violence in particular. Now the hospital recognizes their work and places them in a permanent position.

Read more »
Scroll to Top

fbpx

Tag: GBV

Marie Gilbrin spricht vor dem Publikum der aidsfocus-Konferenz.

aidsfocus.ch-Konferenz: Sexuelle Gewalt und HIV

Die Jahreskonferenz von aidsfocus.ch und terre des hommes schweiz vom 10. April 2014 in Bern widmete sich dem Thema “Sexuelle Gewalt und HIV”. Laut WHO ist jede dritte Frau weltweit physischer und/oder sexueller Gewalt ausgesetzt. Diese Übergriffe haben direkte Auswirkungen auf die Gesundheit der Betroffenen und sind eine der Hauptursachen von HIV-Ansteckungen.
Irene Bush, Fachstelle für psychosoziale Unterstützung PSS

Weiterlesen »
Screenshot von der Einladung als PDF zur Veranstaltung am 7. April im Unternehmen Mitte

Sexuelle Gewalt in Südafrika immer noch akzeptiert

Alle zehn Minuten wird in Südafrika eine Frau vergewaltigt. Fast jede zweite junge Frau unter 18 Jahren wurde bereits einmal Opfer einer Vergewaltigung. Unsere Partnerorganisation LifeLine unterstützt die Opfer und leistet grosse Präventionsarbeit in Südafrika. Sinikiwe Biyela, Direktorin von LifeLine Pietersmaritzburg, ist am 7. April zu Besuch und wird über die Arbeit von LifeLine berichten.

Weiterlesen »
Infografik über die Gesundheitsrisiken durch häusliche Gewalt.

Gewalt gegen Frauen – eine weltweite Epidemie

Viele der Partnerorganisationen von terre des hommes schweiz beschäftigen sich seit Jahren mit der Problematik der geschlechtsspezifischen Gewalt. In Afrika erleidet mehr als jede dritte Frau gewalttätige Übergriffe. Mit diesem Phänomen kämpfen aber nicht nur die Frauen aus Ländern des Südens. Die jährliche Aktion “16 Tage gegen Gewalt an Frauen” macht auf dieses Problem und dessen Folgen aufmerksam.

Weiterlesen »
Nondumiso Gule (l.) und Haniffa Nzama (r.) von der südafrikanischen Organisation LifeLine betreuen im von ihnen aufgebauten Krisenzentrum von sexueller Gewalt betroffene Menschen.

Erfolg für Beraterinnen von Gewaltopfern

Die jungen Südafrikanerinnen Nondumiso Gule und Haniffa Nzama haben mit unserer Partnerorganisation LifeLine am Distriktkrankenhaus von Escourt eine Anlaufstelle für gewaltbetroffene Menschen aufgebaut. Dort beraten und begleiten sie insbesonders Opfer sexueller Gewalt. Nun anerkennt das Spital ihre Arbeit und stellt sie fest an.

Weiterlesen »
Lucy

Tansania: Mit Mut gegen die Gewalt an Mädchen und Frauen

Lucy Elias, eine Mitarbeiterin unserer Partnerorganisation Kivulini in Tansania, wurde diese Woche von der Polizei verhaftet: Die Eltern eines 17-jährigen Mädchens beschuldigen sie, ihre Tochter bei der Flucht aus der Familie unterstützt zu haben. Das Mädchen hatte bei Lucy Elias Hilfe gesucht, weil sie von ihrer Familie misshandelt wird.

Weiterlesen »
Nach oben blättern