fbpx
Laila Fakhouri, winner of the Human Rights Award of the City of Weimar on 10.12.2019. Photo zVg terre des hommes schweiz, by Samuel Rink

Laila Fakhouri

For 45 years, Morocco has occupied large parts of Western Sahara, home of the Sahrauis. They are regularly the target of repression and discrimination by the occupying forces. The young Sahraui Laila Fakhouri stands up for the rights and self-determination of her people. On the initiative of terre des hommes schweiz, she received the Weimar Human Rights Award 2019 for her commitment to a peaceful solution to the "forgotten" conflict in Western Sahara.

"Young Sahrauis need prospects" 

9 December 2020

Media release - The signs point to war in the decades-long conflict between Morocco and the Sahrawi liberation movement Frente Polisario. Human rights activist Laila Fahkouri has been staying in the Sahrawi refugee camps in the Algerian desert since March. The situation is particularly gruelling for young people, she tells terre des hommes schweiz. Condemned to do nothing, they are prone to [...]

read more >

Laila Fakhouri on the situation in the Sahrawi refugee camps

9 December 2020

The ceasefire between Morocco and the Frente Polisario, the political representation of the Sahrawis, lasted almost thirty years. In mid-November, the conflict escalated and now the signs point to war. The young Sahrawi Laila Fakhouri is campaigning for a peaceful solution to the conflict and for the rights of her people. Since March, the [...]

read more >

"Right to Self-Determination for Young Saharan"

December 10, 2019

The Western Sahara conflict is a continuing catastrophe for the population of the Sahrauis. Since 1975, the Moroccan regime has illegally ruled over these people and their homeland in North West Africa. terre des hommes schweiz has been committed for many years to the private, political and economic self-determination of the Sahrauis. The development organisation has successfully lobbied for the young Sahraui, [...]

read more >

Human Rights Award for Young Sahraui

November 21, 2019

Laila Fakhouri has been campaigning since early youth for the right of her people to self-determination. For this commitment, the 25-year-old Sahraui now receives the Human Rights Award of the city of Weimar. This prize is awarded every year on the occasion of the International Human Rights Day on 10 December. terre des hommes schweiz nominated Laila Fakhouri for the prize. On 4 [...]

read more >

Sahrawis in Western Sahara: Better War Than Oblivion?

Echo of Time, 12/17/2020


 

Further contributions on Western Sahara

Scroll to Top

fbpx
Laila Fakhouri, Preisträgerin des Menschenrechtspreises der Stadt Weimar am 10.12.2019. Foto zVg terre des hommes schweiz, by Samuel Rink

Laila Fakhouri

Seit 45 Jahren hält Marokko grosse Teile der Westsahara besetzt, Heimat der Sahrauis. Sie sind regelmässig Ziel von Repression und Diskriminierung durch die Besatzermacht. Die junge Sahraui Laila Fakhouri setzt sich für die Rechte und Selbstbestimmung ihres Volkes ein. Für ihr Engagement für eine friedliche Lösung des «vergessenen» Westsahara-Konflikts erhielt sie auf Initiative von terre des hommes schweiz den Weimarer Menschenrechtspreis 2019.

«Junge Sahrauis brauchen Perspektiven» 

9. Dezember 2020

Medienmitteilung  – Die Zeichen stehen auf Krieg im jahrzehntelangen Konflikt zwischen Marokko und der sahrauischen Befreiungsbewegung Frente Polisario. Die Menschenrechtsaktivistin Laila Fahkouri hält sich seit März in den sahrauischen Flüchtlingslagern in der algerischen Wüste auf. Für Jugendliche sei die Situation besonders zermürbend, berichtet sie terre des hommes schweiz. Zum Nichtstun verdammt, würden sie anfällig dafür, […]

weiterlesen >

Laila Fakhouri zur Situation in den sahrauischen Füchtlingscamps

9. Dezember 2020

Fast dreissig Jahre hielt der Waffenstillstand zwischen den Konfliktparteien Marokko und der Frente Polisario, die politische Vertretung der Sahrauis. Mitte November eskalierte der Konflikt und nun stehen die Zeichen auf Krieg. Die junge Sahraui Laila Fakhouri setzt sich für eine friedliche Lösung des Konflikts und für die Rechte ihres Volkes ein. Seit März sitzt die […]

weiterlesen >

«Recht auf Selbstbestimmung für junge Sahraui»

10. Dezember 2019

Der Westsahara-Konflikt ist eine anhaltende Katastrophe für die Bevölkerung der Sahrauis. Seit 1975 herrscht das marokkanische Regime widerrechtlich über diese Menschen und ihre Heimat in Nordwestafrika. terre des hommes schweiz engagiert sich seit vielen Jahren für die private, politische und wirtschaftliche Selbstbestimmung der Sahrauis. Die Entwicklungsorganisation hat sich erfolgreich dafür eingesetzt, dass die junge Sahraui, […]

weiterlesen >

Menschenrechtspreis für junge Sahraui

21. November 2019

Laila Fakhouri setzt sich seit früher Jugend für das Recht ihres Volkes auf Selbstbestimmung ein. Für dieses Engagement erhält die 25-jährige Sahraui nun den Menschenrechtspreis der Stadt Weimar. Dieser wird jedes Jahr anlässlich des Internationalen Tags der Menschenrechte am 10. Dezember vergeben. terre des hommes schweiz hat Laila Fakhouri für den Preis vorgeschlagen. Am 4. […]

weiterlesen >

Sahrauis in der Westsahara: Besser Krieg als Vergessenwerden?

Echo der Zeit, 17.12.2020


 

Weitere Beiträge zur Westsahara

Nach oben blättern